Essential digital skills framework


Permanent URL for this page:

Corporate author:

Lloyds Banking Group
Tech Partnership (Organisation)


This framework has been designed to support providers, organisations and employers across the UK who offer training for adults to secure their essential digital skills. The frameworks sets out five categories of essential digital skills for life and work: (1) communicating; (2) handling information and content; (3) transacting; (4) problem solving; and (5) being safe and legal online. There is also information about foundation skills, which are typically required by those not currently using digital technology or using it in limited ways. This is the first update of the basic digital...  [+] Show more

Subjects: Skills and knowledge; Technology; Adult and community education; Providers of education and training

Keywords: Adult education; Internet; Communication skill; Online system; Skill sets; Problem solving skill; Legal aspect; Digital skills

Geographic subjects: Great Britain; Europe

Published: Manchester, England: Department for Education, 2018

Physical description: [9] p.

Access item:

Resource type: Government information

Document number: TD/TNC 135.1070

Show Extra Info
QR Code for