The development of tertiary education in Australia, 1939-1979

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Permanent URL for this page:

Author: Hyde, Jim


Within the development, of tertiary education in Australia in the post-War period, there are four committees of inquiry which clearly have played a central role. These are the Interdepartmental Committee on Education (1944), the Committee on Australian Universities (1957), the Committee on the Future of Tertiary Education in Australia (1964-65), and the Committee of Inquiry into Education and Training (1979). These become known as the Walker Committee, the Murray Committee, the Martin Committee and the Williams Committee after their chairmen. It was these inquiries which ratified and...  [+] Show more

Subjects: Tertiary education; Higher education; Vocational education and training; Providers of education and training; Policy; Governance; Outcomes

Keywords: History; Technical education and training; Government role; Relevance of education and training; Education and training system; Education and training reform; Access to education and training; Funding; Institutional role

Geographic subjects: Australia; Oceania

Published: Adelaide, South Australia: University of Adelaide, 1983

Physical description: xiv, 446 p.

Access item:

Statement of responsibility: J. T. Hyde

Resource type: Thesis

Document number: TD/TNC 133.935

Show Extra Info
QR Code for