Register of Australian Tertiary Education (RATE): major tertiary course award levels in Australia


Permanent URL for this page:

Corporate author:

Australian Education Council


Academic awards in Australia can be classified into nine broad levels. The titles of accredited awards reflect these levels. This booklet describes the levels of awards and their associated titles. It also provides information on RATE, the national body responsible for developing the classification scheme, and the accrediting authorities in each state and territory responsible for classifying courses in terms of the award levels.

Excerpt from publication.

Subjects: Qualifications; Governance; Teaching and learning

Keywords: Educational level; Accreditation; Postsecondary education; Course; Education and training system; Government agency

Geographic subjects: Australia; Oceania

Published: Carlton South, Victoria: Australian Education Council, 1991

Physical description: 17 p.

ISBN: 0642162379

Resource type: Guide

Document number: TD/TNC 105.325

Show Extra Info
QR Code for

Item File(s)

Download to Device