Glossary term: Ministerial Council for Education, Early Childhood Development and Youth Affairs


A council of ministers established on 1 July 2009 by the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) to replace the Ministerial Council on Education, Employment, Training and Youth Affairs (MCEETYA). Membership to MCEECDYA comprised State, Territory, Australian Government and New Zealand Ministers with responsibility for the portfolios of school education, early childhood development and youth affairs, with Papua New Guinea, Norfolk Island and East Timor having observer status. MCEECDYA's areas of responsibility were: primary and secondary education; youth affairs and youth policy relating to schooling; cross-sectoral matters including transitions and careers; early childhood development including early childhood education and care; and international education (school education).

In January 2012, MCEECDYA was replaced by the Standing Council on School Education and Early Childhood (SCSEEC).

See also: