Glossary term: Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations

Acronym: DEEWR

The Commonwealth department responsible for education and training from 2007-2013. It replaced the former Department of Education, Science and Training (DEST) and Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (DEWR).

In December 2011, following a cabinet reshuffle, responsibility for tertiary education and skills was transferred to the then newly formed Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIISTRE), which became the Department of Industry, Innovation, Climate Change, Science, Research and Tertiary Education (DIICCSRTE) in March 2013.

Following the 2013 federal election, DEEWR was replaced by the Department of Education and the Department of Employment.

See also: